The 2022 Annual International Magnesium Science and Technology Award Ceremony was successfully held

19 May 2023
National Engineering Research Center for Magnesium Alloys, March 19, 2023
On March 18, 2023, the 2022 Annual International Magnesium Science and Technology Award Ceremony was held in Lanxi, Zhejiang Province. The conference is hosted by International Mg Society and Journal of Magnesium and Alloys. It was organized by National Engineering Research Center for Magnesium alloys, National Key Laboratory of Advanced Casting Technologies, Chongqing Institute of New Energy Storage Materials and Equipment, Chongqing Association for the Promotion of Industry-University-Research Cooperation, Committee of Lanxi Functional new material high-tech Industrial Park, Lanxi Optical Film Town, Zhejiang Normal University, and co-organized by Shanxi Wenxi Yinguang Magnesium Industry Group Co., Ltd, Caixin Foundation and Baosteel Metal.
Prof. Fusheng Pan (Academician of Chinese Academy of Engineering, President of International Mg Society, Chairman of Chongqing Association for Science & Technology, vice President of Chinese Materials Research Society, honorary Director of National Engineering Research Center for Magnesium Alloys (CCMg)) served as the chair of the award committee. Prof. Karl Kainer (former Director of Magnesium Innovation Center in Helmholtz Zentrum Geesthacht, Germany, and former President of International Magnesium Association) served as the vice chair. The award committee consists of 113 renowned experts from 23 countries, including China, the United States, Canada, Germany, the United Kingdom, Australia, Japan, South Korea and Singapore. The Annual Award selection is conducted every year, and is categorized as Person of the Year, Youth of the Year, Excellent Paper of the Year, Excellent Thesis of the Year, Standard of the Year, Innovative Process of the Year, Innovative Product of the Year, and Special Contribution on Innovation of the Year.
Academician Pan Fusheng delivered the opening speech and introduced the background, selection methods and selection processes of the International Magnesium Science and Technology Award in detail. Mr. Zhu Junhua, Mayor of Lanxi City, gave a welcoming speech and introduced the development of Lanxi's magnesium industry and extended a warm welcome to the participants. Famous professors and experts such as academician Pan Fusheng, Prof. Karl Kainer, former president of the International Magnesium Association, Prof. Alan Luo, Academician of the American Academy of Engineering, Academician K.S. Shin from Seoul National University in Korea, Mr. Wu Chuanyu, Vice President of Zhejiang Association of Science and Technology, Mr. Dai Chong, Secretary of Lanxi Municipal Party Committee, Prof. Yang Bin, Vice President of Kunming University of Science and Technology, Prof. Wu Yucheng, Vice President of Hefei University of Technology, Professor Han Enhou, former Dean of Chinese Academy of Sciences Shenyang Branch, Professor Guan Shaokang, former Vice President of Zhengzhou University, Mr. Wang Lixin, General Manager of New Materials Industry Development Center of China Baowu Group, Mr. Yu Yajun, President of Chongqing Millison Technology, Mr. Mei Xiaoming, President of Yunhai Metal, Professor Yang Yuansheng from Institute of Metal Research, Chinese Academy of Sciences, Professor Cui Hongzhi from Ocean University of China, Professor Qi Lehua from Northwestern Polytechnical University, served as announcing guests and presenting guests, and issued the certificate to the on-site individual and industrial representative winners .
In this year's awards, four well-known enterprises and one well-known expert, including Yangtze River Delta (Lanxi) Magnesium Materials Research Institute of Chongqing University, Qinghai Salt Lake Magnesium Industry Co., Ltd, Chongqing Yuhua New Materials Co., LTD., Meridian and Professor Mingxing Zhang of Queensland University, won the Special Innovative Contribution Award. Four professors, Li Qian from Chongqing University, Jörg. F. Löffler from ETH Zurich, Ji Shouxun from Brunel University UK and Xin Yunchang from Nanjing University of Technology, won the Person of the Year Award. Three experts, Mohammad Ismail from Universiti Malaysia Terengganu, Wu Ruizhi from Harbin Engineering University and Xu Chao from Harbin Institute of Technology, won the Youth of the Year Award. Three papers published by Liu Hong from Shanghai Jiao Tong University, Wu Liang from Chongqing University and Yang Qingshan from Chongqing University of Science and Technology won the Annual Excellent Paper Award. Linqian Wang from Helmholtz-Zentrum Hereon Institute of Surface Science in Germany, Zhang Yi from Institute of Metal Research, Chinese Academy of Sciences, Zhao Di from Chongqing University, Janet Meier from Ohio State University won the Excellent Thesis of the Year Award. Work group of ISO 4155:2022 won the Annual Standard Award. Three technologies, including the low-cost industrial raw magnesium production technology developed by Xi'an Jiaotong University, the room-temperature magnesium alloy sheet forming technology developed by Ohio State University, United States, and the continuous vacuum thermal reduction technology of raw magnesium developed by Northeastern University, China, won the Annual Innovation Process Award. Three Magnesium products were awarded the Annual Innovation Product Award, including fire-retardant magnesium alloy rolling plate developed by Pinetree-Pos Magnesium, Korea, Mg-Li alloy components for aerospace developed by Beijing Satellite Manufacturing Factory and Chongqing University, and large-sized high-performance rare-earth magnesium alloy components developed by North University of China.
The representative of award winners including Prof. Alan Luo, Academician of the American Academy of Engineering, Prof. Mingxing Zhang from the University of Queensland and Mr. Beom Soo Han from Pinetree-Pos Magnesium, Korea, Prof. Qian Li from Chongqing University, Dr. Bin Wang from Yangtze River Delta (Lanxi) Magnesium Research Institute Chongqing University, Prof. Ruizhi Wu from Harbin Engineering University, Dr. Liu Hong from Shanghai Jiao Tong University, Linqian Wang from Helmholtz-Zentrum Hereon, Germany, Dr. Chen Xiongfei from National Standard (Beijing) Inspection and Certification Co., Ltd.. and others delivered their winner speech both online and on-site.
The conference was held on-site in Lanxi, Zhejiang and online with ZOOM. More than 500 representatives from 13 countries, including China, the United States, Germany, the United Kingdom, Canada, Singapore, Japan, South Korea, Australia and Poland, attended the conference. More than 25,000 people listened or watched reports online and offline.
This award conference is not only a summary of the research, development and application in magnesium, magnesium alloy materials and products in the past year, but also puts forward the development direction and efforts for the future development in magnesium and magnesium alloy. The winning individuals and projects cover many fields such as magnesium smelting, magnesium-based structural materials, and magnesium-based functional materials, which will have a significant impact on the development of magnesium and magnesium alloys in the coming years.
The Annual International Magnesium Science and Technology Award successfully held has greatly promoted the discussion and exchange among renowned scientists, young scholars and students of magnesium and magnesium alloys, promoted the cooperation and interaction among universities, research institutes and enterprises. It provided a long-term international exchange and cooperation platform for the development and application of magnesium and magnesium alloy science and technology.

The scene of academician Pan Fusheng’s speech

The scene of mayor Zhu Junhua’s speech